Home > Music, Vagaries > Ah, Satisfaction

Ah, Satisfaction

You Went Away – Martin Youth Auxiliary (from this site.)

About the time the sky turns from pink to black, I calculate the length of my day and ask for hours back. But the superheroes are bored with all the things that I made them, see, and there’s nothing I can do to keep them from stripping the time away from me. I filled it all wrong on the form, you see.

The sky above your car is the darkest thing. Now I’m gonna go inside and wait for the phone to ring, because you went away.

I was sorely tempted to name this post ‘Closure’. It would have been the third I’d have come across in 24 hours. I guess it’s that winding down feeling? The sound of the song (the link is direct to the mp3) and the delivery somehow fit that winding down feeling…

The feeling might have been amplified by the unexciting, though purposeful and satisfactorily productive, morning, followed by what would have been a laid back afternoon (I encountered Camus), capped with that fantastic match. The tension’s mostly ebbed away, but not before leaving a kind of sanguine sluggishness in its wake. Which will, with any luck, enhance the quality of my repose. Although the lyrics might not reflect it, today was blissful.

Categories: Music, Vagaries
  1. fab
    4 November 2007 at 8:10 am

    Well I guess both teams deserved a point.

  2. reks
    4 November 2007 at 9:38 am

    sneaky blogger,
    truth and beauty bombs are all around.

  3. 4 November 2007 at 12:43 pm

    haha. sneaky blogger! :D

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

