Home > Vagaries > Cacography

Cacography

I learned a new word off freerice.com yesterday. Apparently it means ‘bad handwriting’. I think it’ll be a useful word. I had to fill in a form yesterday, and after not writing for a few weeks, I noticed my cacography had deteriorated even further. I may not face a situation where I’ll have to write with anything except a keyboard for a very long time. I fear for the future of my penmanship.
Couldn’t get to level 45, but I did 2180 grains worth.
I had two-and-a-half solid hours of practice on my instruments this morning, so that was satisfying. It would have made a good beginning to a blissful day, but I was asleep in the afternoon, and that was followed by an introvert-exhausting event.

Reading those other essays of Camus’s and the whole archetype business led inexorably to another reading of The Myth Of Sisyphus. I also bypassed the books between Exodus and Ecclesiastes. To hear the wisest man who ever lived doubtless appealed to my vanity.

Sisyphus and Ecclesiastes in succession have a curious side-effect.

Categories: Vagaries
  1. fab
    9 November 2007 at 2:39 am

    Haha Derek and his cacography. Well I managed 3330 grains, but seriously some of the harder ones were in front and easier ones behind. Never got past 40, and at points I’d fall all the way back to the low 30s. =/

  2. Cuthbert
    9 November 2007 at 2:35 pm

    Cool, I only managed 2180. I didn’t get past 44.

  3. Jono
    9 November 2007 at 10:27 pm

    audition how D: need to find 2 minutes’ worth of solo music.

  4. Cuthbert
    10 November 2007 at 12:23 am

    Well, can play band piece extracts. But I got Bach. When are you back?

  5. Jono
    10 November 2007 at 11:07 am

    monday 1am. i’ll try some of the pieces from my exam books, maybe. the non-accompanied ones. i’m surprised they don’t test arpeggios.

    any chance you’re going to school to practice, say, at least three or four times along the week?

  6. Cuthbert
    10 November 2007 at 3:18 pm

    3 or 4 times. Hm. I guess I can open up the room on Wednesday too. I’ll definitely be opening up the room on Monday morning, but you’ll probably be exhausted.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

