Home > Vagaries > Band Fest + Concert

Band Fest + Concert

It’s a few hours ’til JC band fest performance tonight. I’m at Pacific Coffee Company now waiting for the other band people to arrive for lunch. The place is empty except for staff and 1 other non-band person.

On the program tonight for honor band:

  1. Festmusik Der Stadt Wien (Festmusik for the state of Vienna I think) by Strauss
  2. 1st Suite in Eb by Holst
  3. Der Traum Des Oenghus (The dream of Oenghus I think) by Rudin
  4. El Camino Real by Alfred Reed
  5. His Honor (March) by Fillmore

I think it’ll be pretty cool, but I’m expecting to see more people I know at tomorrow’s Christmas Classics and the band concert on 26 December.

Band fest has been fun. My playing improved progressively from the first day, partly because my sound was terrible on day 1. Lunch and practices and breakfast and dinner were rather entertaining, with the slightly deranged band people. Our conductor (he’s Italian) is also excellent.

GVL vs. Time

As can be seen, GVL increases during band fest. Despite us being west of Boon Lay. There’s sound from instruments (the cymbals and bass drum stand behind me!), and also increased use of vocal chords (singing and shouting and the like).

I’m on a pre-perf high now. It’s partly caffeine-fueled. There’s foam on my lip now. Hopefully it’ll be matched by an even better post-perf high. That would mean it was a good one.

Edit: Post-Perf

It’s past midnight, and I’ll be at Singapore Art Museum at 10 a.m. tomorrow, assuming I’m punctual.

The post-perf high was not bad. I don’t regret missing ‘blockbuster Sunday’ at all. (I should clarify: not the Channel 5 one, but the Liverpool-ManU-Arsenal-Liverpool one.) Performance definitely could have been better, but good nonetheless. Also, perhaps next year’s band fest (tentative) should take into account EPL football schedules to (marginally) improve ticket sales.

Today I realized my performance average this year will be once in 2 months, and more if I consider my ATCL recital.  There’s 2 more, Christmas Classics tomorrow and band concert after Christmas.

I’m going to get some sleep.

Categories: Vagaries Tags:
  1. 17 December 2007 at 12:23 am

    The place is empty except for staff and 1 other non-band person.

    i beg to differ. i watched you draw that graph on the pcc com!

  2. Cuthbert
    17 December 2007 at 12:28 am

    The place is empty except for staff and 1 other non-band person, and band people. Happy?

    And Tevez scores the winner! RSS feeds for the match-missing-consolation win.

  3. darthpookie
    17 December 2007 at 10:22 am

    Ha. gunners are STILL on TOP. sucker.

  4. Cuthbert
    18 December 2007 at 12:45 am

    When it comes down to luck at the end of the season, you’ll find you’re short of it after blowing the budget.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

