Home > Exclamations > Trouble (‘Oh, no, what’s this?’)

Trouble (‘Oh, no, what’s this?’)

I am amazed by my capacity to modify my internal responses to objective facts. It is not so much a matter of me deluding myself, it’s more a matter of me being able to put off responding or otherwise feeling the impact of a loss. Oh no, can you sense it? The expectation that I am about to burst like a bubble?

Because the loss isn’t something really dramatic or emotional or even very vital.

I’ve misplaced that little ‘Time’ notebook. I’ve been using since I used up my Fish & Co. one quite recently. So what was in that little notebook? Nothing scandalous, and nothing really important except my notes on Sophie’s Choice. Oh no, is that my EE text?

splutz says:
my page refs and my notes on my NOVEL!
splutz says:
DAMMIT
splutz says:
it’s my NOTES and my POINTS with the references to the relevant PAGES
splutz says:
in some cases, complex points with MULTIPLE REFERENCES
splutz says:
AHHHH

I would like to add that, by the way, I only spent hours, and hours, on the notes. Looking for specific WORDS or WORD PAIRS that I happened to remember while reading a particular phrase somewhere else, dutifully recording my findings.

Ok, painful. At the beginning of this post I mentioned being amazed. Well, I’ve kind of ‘known’ that I couldn’t locate the book since, hm, Friday I think, but I’m only really feeling the impact of it now. Not feeling it earlier didn’t lose me anything, I guess, but the delay is… strange, to say the least. I guess I was focusing on other things.

Ok, very painful.

Ouch.

Ouch!

AND AND AND. Whoever it is who took my Huck Finn better realize it. I have your copy and you have mine, but yours is blank and mine isn’t. And mine has my name on it.

Categories: Exclamations
  1. kenny
    7 April 2008 at 5:03 pm

    you so full of rage

  2. fab
    7 April 2008 at 7:13 pm

    Gah I’ve been losing stuff too. Painful painful. And relief when I do manage to find them. Of course, not everything is saved…

    But hope you’ll find your things soon.

  3. Kenneth
    9 April 2008 at 4:29 pm

    eh you lost your book in class? i’ll help you raid tables tmr if there’s a chance they’re there!

  4. 13 April 2008 at 12:17 am

    this is why i keep everything in my locker. year 6s are nasty pilferers, i say.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

