Home > Writing > Bliss Like This

Bliss Like This

It’s past 11 p.m., and the rules have been relaxed. The paunchy, slimy-looking expat men are showing up with their would-be lays. (Their nervous self-consciousness is quite damning.) I’m looking at a taxi that’s just arrived, and I’m thinking, ‘Booty call.’ These apartments are more hotel than residence, and the tenants are correspondingly sleazy.

But: I am lounging on a pair of chairs with my feet happily bare in the night air. It is remarkably quiet where I am (especially considering how I’m only about three stops away or so from Orchard), and I have coffee. Bliss like this is hard to find, cigarette smoke and sleaze or no. (They at least try to be discreet.)

Categories: Writing Tags: ,
  1. jingen
    19 July 2008 at 7:42 pm

    ‘discreet’ or ‘discrete’? and you could have just said
    “i saw horny men late at night. i had coffee.”
    haha

  2. Cuthbert
    20 July 2008 at 10:22 pm

    Oops. That’s been corrected. And with regards to your other suggestion, I suppose I just hope they actually READ my version first. :p

  1. 12 July 2009 at 3:22 am

Leave a Reply

