Home > Exclamations > The Week++ (9-17 August)

The Week++ (9-17 August)

The National Day weekend was spent working on music IAs. This all but consumed me until Tuesday, when I decided I would have to drop everything and focus on IOC. That’s what I did. IOC and IAs have pretty much closed out most other influences on my life. I guess in between I’ve been watching the Olympics off-and-on, and, now that I think about it, I somehow did manage to read two other non-school-related books… Ahh! I didn’t realize that. Well, one of them was something I won’t record here; suffice it to say that it’s something my sister read enthusiastically, and that me reading it was something she found slightly disturbing. The other was Moments of Reprieve by Primo Levi. It’s a collection of short stories. I guess my conscience isn’t quite so troubled about reading this one since it was quite a short book. I was quite well-primed for the subject and themes, since my EE text dealt with similar ones. In retrospect, maybe reading it isn’t something I should feel troubled about at all, because I think it really was a blessed respite from Lear and Maya Angelou and Soyinka and Owen. (Frost doesn’t tire me out at all, but I am less confident about my ability to comment on his poems; there’s so much that is so hard to put into words!)

IOC tomorrow! Yay!

Categories: Exclamations
  1. 18 August 2008 at 8:16 pm

    Ho ho thanks for the helicopter comment. It became a new post…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

