Home > Exclamations > Mad Men Season 1

Mad Men Season 1

I’ve just watched the final episode of Season 1 of Mad Men and it was fantastic. Don’s pitch to the Kodak people was one of those great moments… 

I’ve somehow managed to watch the episodes at a rate of slightly under one a day. It’s been magnificent. I have Season 2 waiting. 

The society and the place and the time the show is set in isn’t one I haven’t been introduced to before, because my EE text (William Styron’s Sophie’s Choice) was set just a few years before 1960. There are long passages seemingly aimed at introducing how life in that time and place was different from life at the time of publication. When I watched Mad Men, a lot of the issues mentioned came up, and it was interesting to see how they interacted. 

The characters are… fascinating. 

The plot moves somewhat slowly for a TV serial but it works really well. I’ve heard from a few people who’ve watched it, and they really enjoy the clothes and color and the overall visual presentation. Those aren’t things I’m usually conscious of, but they definitely didn’t detract from my enjoyment.

Categories: Exclamations Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

