Home > Events, Vagaries > Unreasonably Happy

Unreasonably Happy

Every day I’m out of camp is a day I’m free to pursue my own programme, and this invariably lifts my spirits and keeps them up. It is as though, when I’m out, I am recording my enjoyment and storing it away for the days ahead. Perhaps it is this that makes me proceed in whatever I do with vigour, or, to use the word I had in mind, lustily; and, animated by this seeming inexhaustibility, I find I appreciate things I would have missed before, like grilled mackerel, or little bars of Dars. 

At some moments, alarmed by my own lustiness, I wonder if my seemingly perpetual high spirits are entirely healthy, or, conversely, if it means that I was less than appreciative of life’s pleasures before. I think many of the things I would have considered mere pleasant distractions before are things I have since learnt to appreciate with less affected moderation. Or am I being immoderate? 

Try to imagine how the past eleven days have felt like bliss; it isn’t hard. If, in that time, I’ve spent time with you at all, I sincerely hope you were at least as happy as I was, if only for a bit. 

I received my posting on Friday, and now it’s Sunday night. In a few hours, I’ll be back in camp. There are things to look forward to, like meeting some old friends, meeting my new bunkmates and, hopefully, managing army life even better than I did before. And, there’s always the next book-out, and I’ll be crazy-happy again… In the meantime, I’m all packed and ready, and my bed is looking very welcoming. 

Tomorrow, I go to learn to serve my country. At SISpec. (Don’t smirk, you.)

Categories: Events, Vagaries
  1. cherems
    28 March 2009 at 7:27 pm

    how how? how’s the training?

  2. 28 March 2009 at 10:22 pm

    The phrase I have in mind starts with ‘d’ and ends with ‘amn slack’. Maybe it’ll get tougher, but not in a good way. It will, probably, just suck more. What wing are you in?

  3. cherems
    29 March 2009 at 4:58 pm

    echo wingggg. yes i heard it’s damn slack

  4. 29 March 2009 at 6:53 pm

    Haha nice Echo. How come no one I know seems to be in Delta? Is it because they have so little personal time they can’t send news about their fates?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

