Home > Events > First Week

First Week

As of now, I am a week into my appointment. Last week I met both my former platoon sergeant and former platoon commander. They’re both still there, but they’re both leaving soon. I was glad to see them, and they were glad to see me.
This week I’ve also discovered that my job can be severely exhausting. So many lives, so many concerns, so many things to do. I get questions, orders and requests. I sleep late and wake early. Booking out was a relief.
Today I had mango ice cream on bread while walking through Esplanade park. That was also when I realized that next weekend is race weekend, and that on race weekend Sergeant Derek will be confined with his recruits.
That was a very sad juxtaposition. But on a happier note, my last unopened item from Taiwan is a double-disc set of Glenn Gould playing Bach and Brahms. I opened it.
General note: On weekends we spend money to buy time. Less general note: I am experiencing buyer’s remorse.

As of now, I am a week into my appointment. Last week I met both my former platoon sergeant and former platoon commander. They’re both still there, but they’re both leaving soon. I was glad to see them, and they were glad to see me.

This week I’ve also discovered that my job can be severely exhausting. So many lives, so many concerns, so many things to do. I get questions, orders and requests. I sleep late and wake early. Booking out was a relief.

Today I had mango ice cream on bread while walking through Esplanade park. That was also when I realized that next weekend is race weekend, and that on race weekend Sergeant Derek will be confined with his recruits.

That was a very sad juxtaposition. But on a happier note, my last unopened item from Taiwan is a double-disc set of Glenn Gould playing Bach and Brahms. I opened it.

General note: On weekends we spend money to buy time. Less general note: I am experiencing buyer’s remorse.

Categories: Events Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

