Home > Vagaries > Up To Speed

Up To Speed

My previous post paints quite an unhappy picture of life in the past months, but there were definitely good things. I think those genuinely good things were as vital to whatever turnaround I experienced as anything else. Because time is short (I’m booking in soon), I will fall back on the expedient of lists.

Events (Momentous or Marginal):

  • Theory Grade 8 Exam (last Saturday).
  • All the outfield activities for my current batch.
  • Finishing the last page in my awesome black notebook!
  • Finally having a clear idea of the colleges I will be applying to this year.

Good Things:

  • Toffee nut lattes. (‘Tis the season.)
  • Nasi Lemak at Changi Village.
  • Music! Lots of Wilco, Metric, Jamiroquai…
  • Shrimp and avocado sandwich on freshly baked brown bread! The bread is chewy, the shrimp is fresh, the vegetables are crisp, and there’s avocado!
  • YG5, a group of great people I’ve really come to appreciate.
  • Finding solitude on duty. I listened to the other COS playing the bagpipes in camp when no one else was around, explored the area on bike, and listened to Radio Lab in the night. Quite wonderful stuff, really.

I think you’ll agree, life’s been going on even if I wasn’t really paying attention.

Before I leave the house, I really should mention something that’s coming up in the next few Sundays, because it’s something I’m excited about. Christianity Revisited is something two of the small groups in my church are organizing for our friends. The blog is really useful reading if you want to know what we have in mind, but what I’m psyched about is that it’s going to be an environment where we’re going to try and assume as little as possible, and be as open to questions and discussion as we can. We have you, our friends, in mind when we were thinking about this, so we didn’t want it to be something uncomfortably ‘churchy’ or sneakily evangelical either. We are Christians, but I guess what we’re hoping for is the opportunity to share about the things we think about the world and listen to what you believe, because beliefs are kind of difficult to bring up sometimes. I hope you’ll consider.

Now, I’ll be putting into effect my change-parade- and everything-in-everything-out-honed skills. I have a boat to catch. Until next week.

Categories: Vagaries
  1. (:
    15 November 2009 at 10:07 pm

    (: toffee nut lattes

    i want a cool black notebook like the one you have, but the last time i walked into prints on monday i was wowed by how expensive and how broke i was. D:

  2. 15 November 2009 at 10:09 pm

    Yes, I went to look at it too. It’s currently beyond me so I’m sticking with a substitute. It also made me wonder about how on earth I could appropriately thank the person who gave it to me.

  1. 15 November 2009 at 10:33 pm

Leave a Reply

