Home > Exclamations > Smug Reviewer

Smug Reviewer

Oh ho, now my Grade 8 Theory cert is back-to-back with my 51st ASLC cert in my large gray file of Important Documents. While I’d usually attempt to review either my recent army life or my languishing  musical life, I just don’t feel up to it today. (Yeah, so what’s new the past coupla months?)

But, basically, today, after two weeks or more, I finally opened up the large envelope from the ABRSM on my desk to view my certificate. I had been informed of my overall result, but I suppose there was still the gratification of seeing the Official, physical certification of my ability that I was seeking. I didn’t expect the enclosed mark breakdown by section, but it only added to my already dangerously increasing sense of self-satisfaction. I lost 2 of 20 marks on composition and 2 of 15 on completing parts, so evidently my technical theory was where I expected it to be; specifically, Up There (to use an army-ism). I lost the rest of my marks (13) on French and German terms I didn’t know, and probably a couple of flubbed historical context questions. To top off the sickeningly sugary milkshake of smug with whipped cream of obnoxious: I submitted myself as a candidate online some time during the tail-end of ASLC or immediately after it ended, and proceeded to not study for the exam until the night before, so basically lazy got me a merit instead of a distinction, but with loads of smugness.

I need to sober up (I suppose I should note that I am not really inebriated with alcoholic or psychotropic substances). Or sleep. Or something.

Categories: Exclamations
  1. 16 February 2010 at 12:36 am

    HAHAH

  2. Alastair Su
    18 February 2010 at 11:21 pm

    “languishing musical life”. oh how that couldn’t more true. NS is a killing zone for artists.

    now that i’ve ORDed, my music development has been expanding exponentially. it’ll come back my friend, it’ll come back… after november.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

