Home > Music, Vagaries > I Find Shelter (In This Place)

I Find Shelter (In This Place)

I spent the productive hours of today speaking over the noise of engines at a clip to match the impatience of the bus drivers. Being in my usual activated state for a battery of tours is typically strenuous enough, but the strain was compounded by the weather. The only word to describe the heat is ‘debilitating’, and I crashed after the tours and associated business were over.

But today was one of those rather luxurious work days, luxurious because it ends properly and doesn’t drag, where one can do what one will with the remaining hours. There’ll be few of these days left in the months to come, and I’ll have progressively more typical ones starting soon. Being aware of this situation and the environment at a less-than-fully conscious level prompted my ensconcing-instinct to kick in.

So I found shelter from the heat of the sun and the anticipation of labor, first in a regenerative sleep, and, later when I woke, in the kinds of things one tends to enjoy alone. (Some things have the virtue of tending not to work well in groups.)

But savor with me the experience of waking up replenished with the prospect of a few hours of private leisure ahead. I took a measured walk to dinner, taking care to breathe the good air. I revived over said dinner, had the after-dinner drink and coffee, and put this together:

Quiet; bracing. The two big words for this list could be said even for track 1 alone. Thereafter, the keys segue quite peacefully: A, E, D, C and finally B. Things soar a little bit after 5., but the tone is always even. At the end, ‘Yankee – Hotel – Foxtrot’ is lost in static.

Categories: Music, Vagaries Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

