Home > Reflection > On Trying To Be

On Trying To Be

As I lived the past few years, I learned that there were many things I had to be. Three of those things were responsible, mature and authoritative. (I know it sounds ridiculous, even for a college app.) Life in an organization like the band sold me on responsibility. I would say my home life forced me to be mature. In later years, in whatever situation required a group of individuals to make a concerted effort, I was convinced that it was important to be able to exercise authority well. That’s the newest thing for me, I suppose, and the one I’m worst at, but it’s the one I’m practicing every working day.

That I can even make this shameless self-appraisal now is because I’ve been reflecting on the ways I’ve attempted to be comfortable with being a teenager, which was even more ridiculous.

Categories: Reflection
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

