Home > Reflection > Fathoming the Depths

Fathoming the Depths

I posted ‘More Subtil Than Any Beast‘ because I realized that I feared being trapped or isolated or condemned by knowing and wanting others to know. In the past week I found I’d rather not be afraid.

I’ve had other things to be afraid of as well, and I’ve been thinking about courage. It is interesting that in 16 of 26 hits in a BibleGateway search for ‘courage‘, ‘good courage’ is mentioned. So there is probably a bad kind; hit no. 25 is Amos 2:16: ‘And he that is courageous among the mighty shall flee away naked in that day, saith the LORD.’ Exceptions aside, though, there is a pretty obvious common theme about courage, albeit one that isn’t the most romantic or noble; the common theme is that exhortations to courage are based on God’s interest in the venture, based on His presence or on a prior promise from Him. Notions like romance or nobility aren’t mentioned next to courage, although strength is, and for all that it seems it is mostly a good thing.

In other news, I backdated and posted my sixth playlist post, and another rambling one I wrote about two weeks ago. You could also just scroll down.

Categories: Reflection
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

