Home > Vagaries > Windy Grey Christmas Eve

Windy Grey Christmas Eve

The two quiet hours I spent having coffee, listening to music, praying and writing were good for the soul. When I left I was lighter.

(Headphones on.) The air outside was muggy, but the city was comfortably familiar.

Urban canopy.

Street vista.

But soon the sky was leaden. It was exhilarating.

Concrete.

Death Cab was playing, and I found I could feel like a melancholic sixteen-year-old again; what was different was that the feeling was comfortable. I was on the bus when the rain started, and ‘7. Transatlanticism’ was playing.

The open road.

Between the bus-stop and home, it was less about how wet I was going to get than how fast I was going to go. (‘I am waiting for something to go wrong. / I am waiting for familiar resolve.’)

*

Rest. After which it was time to head out for dinner.

Evening on Everton Road.

Yes. Christmas in the city.

Categories: Vagaries
  1. shuli
    26 December 2010 at 9:32 am

    happysad

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

