Home > Reflection > To Rage In Vain

To Rage In Vain

In the past week I’ve had both happy and unhappy realizations. Realizations are when it becomes all very simple and all very knotty at the same time.

I pray for faith and that in the coming week I will not despair.

*

The title refers to Psalm 2, which I studied this week. One of the spectacles presented to us is the ultimate futility of earthly struggle; I do not think the right response is apathy, but rather the realization that whether a thing is of ultimate consequence is not a matter of our will. There are things worth the expenditure of our effort and will, but we need to be wise about what they are.

As I consider the portrayals and manifestations of vain rage, upheaval and hubris (I have in mind the siege and conquest of Troy, Denethor on his pyre and the airstrikes commanded by a certain leader on his followers), I imagine the spectre of despair stalking the ones expending themselves in their burning rage.

Categories: Reflection
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

