Home > Events > A Point In Space And Time

A Point In Space And Time

I am at a point in space and time. My observations are as follows:

My last work was ministry. My second last was teaching English literature.

My last beverage was coffee in a styrofoam cup.

The last three people I talked to are the people who mean the most to me.

My last act was prayer. On the hour I was writing: I like that better than if I had been lying awake in bed.

I planned to perform precisely none of the preceding acts at the times and in the order that they were.

The last song I heard was ‘Till I See You’, a song I’d never listened to closely before; that it was the last song was thus largely unintended. What vague intention I had was for it to mean something that I could mean, and I arrived at it by an incomplete process of elimination. Call it a trial, but it proved not to be an error.

It was preceded by Wilco’s ‘Sky Blue Sky‘, which would have to be my song for the time. This was totally intentional.

The last bit of scripture I read and meditated on was Psalm 8. Psalm 8:4 (KJV) ‘What is man, that thou art mindful of him? and the son of man, that thou visitest him?’ In full:

1 O LORD, our Lord, how excellent is thy name in all the earth! who hast set thy glory above the heavens.
2 Out of the mouth of babes and sucklings hast thou ordained strength because of thine enemies, that thou mightest still the enemy and the avenger.
3 When I consider thy heavens, the work of thy fingers, the moon and the stars, which thou hast ordained;
4 What is man, that thou art mindful of him? and the son of man, that thou visitest him?
5 For thou hast made him a little lower than the angels, and hast crowned him with glory and honour.
6Thou madest him to have dominion over the works of thy hands; thou hast put all things under his feet:
7All sheep and oxen, yea, and the beasts of the field;
8 The fowl of the air, and the fish of the sea, and whatsoever passeth through the paths of the seas.
9 O LORD our Lord, how excellent is thy name in all the earth!

(From biblegateway.com.)

And so, though my heart is heavy and my thoughts dark, I am reminded of the grace on which I depend, and in the midst of it all I asked, ‘Am I not blessed?’ Am I not?

Amen.

Categories: Events
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

