Home > Events > Chicago (Day 4): Black Friday

Chicago (Day 4): Black Friday

Friday, 29 November. Index.

If I felt kinda down on Thanksgiving, though, Friday was even worse, first, because I missed the raffle for Bourbon County (see Day 2), and second, because I had to go out shopping. I decided that as I was going to need some serious-ish clothes for the Ethics Bowl that Black Friday was as good a time as any to buy stuff. What I hate most about shopping is never feeling like the decision to buy stuff is ever a good one. I was pretty happy, though, with the shoes I got at an Aldo sale shop – 50% off the already discounted price. I got to see even more of downtown, but it was more crowded, and I was so drained by the retail experience that I didn’t feel like taking pictures at all.

The day, however, took a good turn when Eli (a friend from Carleton in the Ethics Bowl team) came by the apartment to pick me up for dinner. The aimed-for establishment was called ‘Buffalo Joe’s’, and it is legit. Buffalo Joe’s is up in Evanston, so I got to see some of the area around Northwestern U as well.

Buffalo Joe's

(Alex and Eli. Eating buffalo wings. The ones with the peppers are called ‘Suicides’, but they honestly weren’t that hot!)

Eli and Alex informed me that it was tradition for them to stop for bubble tea after Buffalo Joe’s. I anticipated not getting the bubble tea myself (because I’m not quite desperate enough for that particular taste of home to pay what I would see as a premium), but I was interested in checking out the menu of the place anyway. Seeing some seafood fried rice on the menu was impressive enough for comment, and the rest of the food looks pretty legit too.

Categories: Events Tags: , ,
  1. 6 December 2013 at 7:44 am

    The bubble tea place you speak of is Joy Yee’s. It is a mecca for faux-Chinese dishes at gargantuan proportions. The best we can do at Northwestern.

    Glad you made it to Buff Joe’s! :)

  1. 1 December 2013 at 4:14 pm

Leave a Reply

