Home > Events > Santa Barbara (Day 18): At the Granada

Santa Barbara (Day 18): At the Granada

I woke up somewhat earlier this day. After a quick shower, I made a brief circuit of the neighbourhood, picking up brunch from a taqueria nearby. (The chicken taco was amazing.) I brought my lunch back to the little deck on top of the hostel, and spent the morning writing postcards. I’d picked up a bunch of them over my first few stops, and I had a long list of intended recipients which I unfortunately never finished writing.

It took quite a while to finish the few that I wrote, and by the time I was done it was mid-afternoon. Like the day before, I was aiming for one of the breweries between the hostel and main street. Today’s was Telegraph Brewing Co.

santabarbara_telegraph

The beer was very good, but some sort of event was going on, and the place was rather more crowded than Figueroa Mountain, so I didn’t stay very long. It was nevertheless about evening-time when I left, and the walk through town was, again, very pretty.

santabarbara_evening1

santabarbara_evening2

I stopped to pick up stamps and drop off postcards somewhere, before Norton’s Pastrami again for dinner.

santabarbara_pastrami

After dinner, it was the concert proper at the Granada Theater.

santabarabara_granada

Watching Jeff Tweedy play, I was marvelling throughout at the skill of the master. On the guitar, every attack and resonance seemed to say something, and I was amazed at the player’s/instrument’s range. This mastery in expression was more than matched in the vocal performance as well.

santabarbara_tweedy

Overall, it was quite the dream for this Wilco fan.

I stood outside the tour bus for some time after the concert, with a few other fans. Jeff Tweedy remained elusive, however.

After the wait was the walk back through town, which was quiet at this hour.

Categories: Events Tags: , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

