Home > Events > Santa Barbara – San Francisco (Day 19): Retour

Santa Barbara – San Francisco (Day 19): Retour

I was due to take the AMTRAK back to Jack London Square in Oakland in the late morning. From the trip south, I knew that the views of the coastline were close to my departure point in Santa Barbara. We’d passed them in the night-time on the way down, however, and as I passed it again the light of day I realized I’d missed how very close we were to the water.

santabarbara_water

The rest of the ride past quite uneventfully. I tried to sleep as much as I can, the train was stopped at points (as usual), and I ended up arriving in Oakland about two hours later than scheduled. Despite the fact, my friend J was still up to meet me.

J had been at school in the area at UC Berkeley, and so, at about 1 a.m. that night, he drove us out there to look around the campus. I didn’t mind, since I’d mostly tried to sleep on the train. Furthermore, I was hungry, and I was promised food. The promised food included the best fried rice I’d had in America.

sanfrancisco_friedrice

After some time looking around the campus, catching up, and picking up more food (bubble tea, popcorn chicken), J drove us back across the bridge to San Francisco for the night.

sanfrancisco_frathouse

sanfrancisco_bridge

Actually, along the way, we did stop for a view of the city from a peak.

sanfrancisco_peak

And, once we were back, we opened up a bottle of something I’d picked up from Telegraph in Santa Barbara.

sanfrancisco_telegraph

Categories: Events Tags: , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. 26 June 2014 at 1:09 pm

Leave a Reply

