Home > Vagaries > Switching Gears (Seattle Days 2 & 3)

Switching Gears (Seattle Days 2 & 3)

On Day 2, I made it out for a run, and although it was colder than expected, I managed the mile-and-a-half or so to the gym.

On the way back, I passed Fremont Brewing just as it was about to open, so I stopped in for a quick drink. Lunch was a burger at the sports bar across the street. Post-lunch, I stopped at a gas station for a toothbrush.

After making some travel arrangements in the afternoon, I set out for a late afternoon walk to Gasworks Park, which I was looking to revisit. The remnants of the old metal pipes and vessels against the green of the park and the bay were as enchanting as ever.

For dinner, I went back to Korochka’s for the dumplings I’d missed previously. They came with the traditional dollop of sour cream and a side of slightly spicy red sauce and some white vinegar.

On Day 3, I decided to park myself at Irwin’s, the neighbourhood bakery in Wallingford, to do some studying (I was basically making chapter notes). I got a shiny Maya Angelou quarter dollar in change.

I took a walk through the Fremont neighbourhood and scoped out the Halloween decorations and graffiti, and ended up at a fried seafood and burger joint for lunch. The line cook and server were both rather ludicrously good-looking.

In the afternoon, I made my way downtown for a change of pace. The coffee place I was aiming to park at was located in an office building. While looking around the lobby, I spied one of the teams that was in town for a gaming tournament that would be happening over the weekend.

I walked around a bit more downtown before heading back in the direction of Wallingford for dinner. After some time in the wind, I was craving the dumplings again, and Korochka’s was conveniently located from the venue of the piano recital I was intending to watch that evening. The dumpling craving nearly went unsatisfied because of the dinner crowd rush, but I managed to get a takeout box with about 15 minutes to spare. I quickly mixed in all the sauces and prepared to eat after I got my ticket.

When I reached the Good Shepherd Centre, I saw that the two gentlemen I’d been sitting next to at the bar were also intending to watch Craig Taborn play.

Categories: Vagaries Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment