Archive

Archive for 18 July 2009

Grandslam

18 July 2009 Leave a comment

Grandslam week is upon us. If ‘Grandslam’ sounds like something exciting and possibly fun, try putting yourself in an army context and in the boots of a trainee. It should evoke something akin to anticipation, of the painful sort. Our main program will be preceded by live firing on Sunday. Awesome. I’ll be in forests with my rifle and my buddies and my FBO on a perpetual sleep deficit,

Until next weekend.

(Next week: Starlight.)

Categories: Events

Lindt Excellence 85% Cacao, 35g

18 July 2009 1 comment

I have been forced to do yet another milk-and-sugar save on a poorly-brewed cup. (If only every place brewed like the only branch I now trust.) I also happen to have a promising bar of chocolate with me, though, so the cause is not yet lost… And I have sampled the chocolate. It is as black as I like my coffee, and it’s satisfyingly bitter. Chocolate this bitter seems almost like coffee anyway. Post-dinner event save!

My periodic chocolate cravings are a relatively recent development which I now associate with army life. I did receive a box of Lindt chocolates that I thoroughly enjoyed some time last year, though, so, in addition to explaining my selection today, the fact that I note that incident guarantees I will remember it as something of chocolate-related significance. I never really liked chocolate as a kid, which I suppose is a little bit atypical.

Categories: Exclamations